DIY Belle Noel Hair Chain & DIY Sock Bun

Hi Deerest Friends,

I know I usually post on Friday but yesterday I went to the wedding of my two lovely friends, Adam & Misty. I was so excited because this was the first wedding I’ve ever been to! I had an amazing time and decided to relate today’s tutorial to this special event. Today’s tutorial is a bit of a double-whammy. Firstly I will be showing how to create a DIY version of the Belle Noel Hair Chain, designed by Kim Kardashian.

Kim Kardashian wears Belle Noel Hair Chain

This piece looks so glamorous and elegant in the hair, and is really easy and inexpensive to make. Secondly, I’m going to be showing you how to create a sock bun. Now, I know this tutorial has been done to death but it still amazes me how many girls don’t know how to create this simple, yet effective hairstyle. Ever time I wear it I have girls come up and ask me how I’ve done it so I thought I’d share it again.
*Note: This hairstyle works best for girls with thicker/ longer hair. If your hair is very fine or short; some hair extensions may be needed to add the necessary volume and length.

So Let’s Get Started!

You Will Need

For the Hair Chain:
-2 Metal Hair Combs
-A pack of Jump Rings
-Three varying lengths of chain, two are the same and one is slightly thicker
-Pliers

For the Sock Bun:
-One Long Sock (in a colour that matches your hair)
-Scissors
-Hair Elastics
-Bobby Pins (Again match it to your hair colour)
-Hairspray

 

Firstly, lay out your chains and combs, as you want them to be. My thickest chain is in the middle with the two smaller chains on either side.

Step 1 (DIY Belle Noel Hair Chain)

Take your first chain and add a jump ring to one end. Using pliers tighten the jump ring around one end of the comb. Repeat with the other two chains, the thickest chain clamping to the middle of the comb and the other thin chain fastening to the other end.

Step 2 (DIY Belle Noel Hair Chain)

Repeat the above step with the other ends of the chains and the other comb. Make sure your design stays symmetrical and that the chains don’t get tangled. Ensure all your jump rings are fastened to the combs securely.

Step 3 (DIY Belle Noel Hair Chain)

Now for the sock bun. Take your sock and cut the toe off.

Step 1 (DIY Sock Bun)

Roll the sock in on itself until you have created a donut-like shape. If you want your bun to be super voluminous, use a thicker sock or use two, placing one inside the other prior to rolling.

Step 2 (DIY Sock Bun)

Take your hair and tie it in a ponytail using a hair elastic. If you want a high bun tie a high ponytail or if you want a low bun tie a low ponytail.

Step 3 (DIY Sock Bun)

Hold your ponytail vertical and place the ends of your ponytail through the centre of the sock donut

Step 4 (DIY Sock Bun)

Take the ends of the hair and place them around and through the sock donut. Start rolling the donut down towards your head. By the time you read your head you should have a voluminous sock bun. Use bobby pins to cover any bit of the sock showing with hair.

Step 5 (DIY Sock Bun)

Smooth the hair around the bun with some hairspray or bobby pins. Place the combs of the hair chain either side of your bun or wherever you like.

Final Step (DIY Belle Noel Hair Chain & DIY Sock Bun)


And You’re Done!

Adam & Misty's Wedding (14/12/2012)

 

This is how I wore my hair for the wedding last night. It’s so simple and elegant yet very eye-catching and unique. With this hairstyle, I’m wore a pink silk dress, wedges and simple gold jewellery. The sock bun was perfect because it was really humid and wet yesterday and if I had have worn my hair down it would have gone all frizzy.

If you liked this DIY tutorial comment below and if you have any other DIY ideas you’d like me to attempt let me know 🙂

Thanks guys!

4 thoughts on “DIY Belle Noel Hair Chain & DIY Sock Bun

    • Hair donuts and bun makers are great but a sock was used in this tutorial as a quick and simple alternative if you wanted to make this hairstyle with things you can find around the house. Thanks for the feedback!

  1. Hi, I do believe this is a great site. I stumbledupon it 😉
    I may come back once again since I book marked it.
    Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you be rich and continue to help other people.

Leave a Reply

