DIY Crochet Lace Belt

Hi Deerest Friends,

My entire life I’ve had a love affair with crochet. Not actually doing it (I can’t crochet to save my life) but any piece that has anything remotely to do with that pretty, vintage-looking knitted lace. There’s something about crochet… I see it and it instantly reminds me of summer; music festivals, the beach and driving all day in my equally vintage car with no air-conditioner. In regards to crochet, I’ve recently noticed a bit of a trend in the fashion blogs of the Internet.

The juxtaposition of soft, feminine crochet with leather (faux, in my case) seems to be everywhere at the moment and as someone with an unhealthy obsession with crochet… well I’m loving it.

I also recently discovered (really recently… it was only two days ago) a place so strange yet so awesome that only Japan could be responsible; Daiso.

So Daiso is basically a huge variety store with cookware, kitchenware, cosmetics, lifestyle products, toys, food, stationary and homewares all under one roof. However, there is one thing that sets Daiso apart from the rest… Every single thing in the store costs exactly $2.80. No more, no less.

(Forgive me if this is old news but I live in Australia and we’re the last Western country to get anything cool. We only got coloured TV two years ago… Just kidding! It was 5 years ago)

So when I was in Daiso I picked up a brown faux leather belt and two rolls of crochet lace (with a tape backing) all for $8.40 and so here we are at our next DIY adventure… The Crochet Lace Belt!

So Let’s Get Started!

You Will Need
-Scissors
-Crochet Lace Tape (if you cant find it with the tape backing you can use ordinary crochet lace and clear-drying super glue)
-A belt (You can buy a new one or repurpose an old one)
-A ruler or measuring tape
-Fray Block or clear nail polish (Optional)

Firstly, measure your belt so you’ll know how much lace you will need. If your belt is thin you might only need one roll but as my belt is a bit thicker I’m using two pieces side-by-side.

Decide where the crochet is going to be on your belt and pay particular attention to the buckle and the belt holes (if you cover the holes with lace your going to destroy it every time you do up your belt so its best to avoid this area)

If you have crochet lace with a tape backing simply start taping the lace wherever you want it to sit and when your finished place a few books on top of the belt just to help the tape really stick. If you find that the tape isn’t sticking very well, use some clear drying super glue as well. I was a bit sceptical that the lace tape for Daiso would stick properly but it worked amazingly well… I definitely recommend this tape.

If your gluing the lace to the belt use very small amounts of a strong glue directly to the lace and hold it firmly against the belt. Avoid getting excess glue on the visible parts of the belt. Allow at least half a day for drying before you wear it.

And finally, if your worried about your crochet lace fraying where you’ve cut it use a small amount of Fray Block or just some clear nail polish to keep the lace neat.


And You’re Done!

You can pretty much wear this belt with anything! It looks great with a pair of denim shorts or jeans with a tucked in tee to show the belt off. The belt adds a bit of interest to an otherwise casual outfit. You can also use this belt to cinch the waist of a pretty summer dress or wear it with a high waisted skirt. I went to dinner last night and I wore it with a plain black tank top tucked into some skinny jeans plus a cardigan, a pale pink scarf and brown flats.

If you liked this DIY Tutorial comment below and if you have any other DIY ideas you’d like me to attempt let me know 🙂

Thanks guys!

5 thoughts on “DIY Crochet Lace Belt

Leave a Reply

