DIY Witchery Heart Top

Hi Deerest Friends,

So I recently saw this really cute top from Witchery, a gorgeous Australian brand, and I thought this would be a great first DIY project for Dorothy Deerest!

At $34.95 (Australian Dollars) this top is a really affordable piece and I was considering just buying it but I wanted to use it as my inspiration to create a slightly different version.

The original Witchery version uses thick cotton to create the sort of flower-like embellishments but I liked the idea of using those cute pom-poms that you can buy at most craft stores to achieve a similar effect. I thought this made the tee look a bit more quirky and unique.

So Let’s Get Started!

You will need:
-A Needle
-Thread (White is best but any light colour will do)
-Craft Pom-Poms
-A T-Shirt (I used Navy but you can use whatever colour you want)
-A Heart Template (I just printed mine off Google Images)
-Chalk or a Dressmakers Pencil
-Pins

* Note: The total cost for the materials for this project was $18 (AUD)

Firstly, lay out your T-shirt on a flat surface

Then pin your heart template in the centre of the shirt

Use a piece of chalk or a dressmakers pencil to draw an outline around the outside of your template and then you can remove the heart template and the pins

Arrange your pom-poms around the heart until your happy with the colours/ placement


And finally, simply start hand-sewing each individual pom-pom on and make sure you sew them on really tight so they don’t fall off (I sewed about 5-6 times for each)

And You’re Done!

This pom-pom heart top acts as the statement piece of any outfit but remains subtle and not too over the top. When I styled this I wore it with a green cardigan, matching shoes and a simple pair of blue jeans to pick up all of the different colours in the pom-poms. I also added the red heart-glasses for a bit of fun and to create a heart motif throughout this outfit.

If you liked this DIY Tutorial comment below and if you have any other DIY ideas you’d like me to attempt let me know 🙂

Thanks guys!

2 thoughts on “DIY Witchery Heart Top

Leave a Reply

